Some Housekeeping

October 2, 2009 § Leave a comment

I pre-warn you dear readers, that this blog may resemble an old junk shop for a while as I have a severe amount of blogging backlog to post as I have been in mourning after the theft and ultimately the loss of my laptop, which did get in the way of the usual blogging activity.

I have now filled the Macbook-shaped hole in my life with – you guessed it – a new Macbook, so it’s time to start anew but first a little housekeeping, as there are old issues to be addressed.

As previously mentioned, I have started my placement year with an internship at The School of Life.

School001

The School of Life is based at a shop in Bloomsbury, which is fitting as it is known as the literary heart of London.

The beautiful illustration above is by Charlotte Mann who has illustrated the walls of the classroom as well as this intricate postcard.

The school runs many programs dealing with high culture subjects in a relaxed setting drawing on teachings from philosophy, sociology and literature.

So far I have attended two of the holidays that the school runs, Urban Gardening and A Voyage of Epicuriosity as well as the evening Politics classes that run every week.

It’s great to be in an environment where asking questions is acceptable and everyone is looking for bigger answers. It’s an encouraging and nurturing environment which is obviously due to the lovely ladies who work there and the kind of inquisitive people who are drawn to the school. It also means I have a tremendously long book-list to dive into.

My father often (correctly) accuses me of being a know-it-all, as I am one those people who hates to be out of their depth in any subject and even if I don’t know something I will (shock horror) often pretend that I do + then find out later, which leads to a lot of guess work.

I planning on not doing this so much in the future as i have come to accept that there is nothing wrong with saying you don’t know, because that’s why you keep learning. It’d be a pretty boring existence if we knew it all. I’m also glad that I’ve come to this conclusion at the start of my year in industry as I’m going to be asking a lot of questions in the next 12 months.

“(There is) Only one thing I know and that is that I know nothing” Socates.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some Housekeeping at kkkkatie's Blog.

meta